European Broadband Awards

The European Broadband Awards is an annual event where the European Commission recognizes outstanding broadband internet projects in Europe. It highlights the successful establishment of broadband infrastructures through these awards.

The European Broadband Awards are open to all types of projects irrespective of the size, location, or technologies used. The competition targets national, regional, and local public authorities (e.g. municipalities, regions and administrations) as well as large and small privately funded projects that adopt innovative models of investment, business or financing structure, such as financial instruments.

European Broadband Awards 2017

Are you involved in a project that is providing citizens with access to high-speed broadband internet? Apply for the European Broadband Award 2017!

How and when to apply?

Download the application form and the guide for applicants. Carefully read the guide and explanations in the application form. Fill in and submit the application (as xlsx file) via e-mail. The deadline for submitting the applications is 7 September 2017, 16:00 CET.

The projects will be assessed by a jury composed of experts in broadband. The jury selects the finalists and the winners. The winners will be awarded by the European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society at the award ceremony on 20 November 2017 and their projects showcased at the Broadband Day in Brussels. The winners and finalists will also be featured in DG Connect's website, newsletters and will be displayed in the good practices database of Broadband Europe.

Award categories

The projects applied will be awarded in one of the five categories:

  1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment
  2. Cost reduction and co-investment in a future proof infrastructure
  3. Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas
  4. Socio-economic impact and affordability
  5. Openness and competition

The new category “Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas” opens up the awards for projects improving sustainable territorial development & competitiveness and contributing to better connected territories.

The Broadband Europe Awards are managed by the European Commission (dg connect) with the support from atene KOM.

You will find more info about previous editions of the awards, the finalists and the winners in the European Broadband Awards archive.

Get all detailed information on application procedures, forms and guidance at European Broadband Awards website.

You can download the guide for applicants (PDF) and the application form (XLSX) also here.